Mar 11, 2016

Coach Romero Is Co-Coach Of Year

Coach Ruby Romero Shares District Coach Of Year Honors

Coach Ruby Romero, head Ladyhorns coach for Hart ISD, has been named Coach of the Year, sharing the honor with Eric Schilling, coach of the Nazareth Swiftettes.

The Ladyhorns came in second in district this year, losing to Hartley in bi-district. The Swiftettes were first in district and lost to Lipan in the final game of the state basketball tournament. (Last year, the Ladyhorns were third in district.)

Ladyhorns named to the All-district team were Lilly Ramirez and Marissa Godino.

Honorable mentions for Hart were Camarie Neudorf, I’lynne Marquez, Kaitlyn Sweet and Audrey Samaniego.

Three Longhorns Named All-district

David Cedillo, E.J. Esquivel and Eloy Marquez were named to the All-district team for the 4-1A conference. Newcomers of the Year were freshman Longhorn Alejandro Guevara, Hart, and Zach Juarez of Springlake-Earth High School.

Coach of the Year was Nathan Branum of Nazareth. Nazareth fell to Texline, defending state champions, at the regional tournament.

Longhorns receiving honorable mention were Justin Garcia, Raul Gonzales, Jr. and Dylan Ramirez.